Johnson takes Sprint Cup Championship - NextSportStar

Johnson takes Sprint Cup Championship

By on November 20, 2016

Jimmie Johnson has claimed his seventh NASCAR championship earlier on Sunday with a victory at the Sprint Cup Championship.

The win moves him into elite company along with Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty as the only people to have reached the mark.

Sunday’s race also marked the end of three-time champion Tony Stewart who will be retiring at seasons end.

About Chris Pozzobon